Official name: Islamic Republic of Mauritania
Regime: Islamic Republic

Geographical data
Surface area: 1,030,700 square km
Capital city: Nouakchott
Main cities: Nouadhibou, Kaedi, Rosso, Zouerat, Atar
Official langage (s): Arab
Current language (s): Arab, Pulaar, Soninke, Wolof
Currency: Ouguiya (€1 = about 383 Ouguiyas)
Independence Day: 28 November

Démographic data
Population: 3.72 million inhabitants (IMF, 2013)
Density: 3.51 inhabitants/square km
Population growth: 2.3 % per year (World Bank, 2011) 

read more

The Islamic Republic of Mauritania is located in West Africa. It is bordered in the North by Algeria, in the West by the Atlantic Ocean, in the South by Mali and Senegal, and in the North-West by Western Sahara (Morocco). Owing to its geographic location, Mauritania is at the crossroads between Northern Africa (Maghreb) and Sub Saharan Africa.

The Government of Mauritania has extended its territorial waters, the initial boundaries of which have gone from 6 to 12 miles in 1970, before reaching 30 miles in 1972. Since 1978, the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of Mauritania has been extended to 200 miles. Mauritania boasts 754 km of coasts and its continental plateau stretches over 34,000 square km.

The country’s EEZ is renowned to be one of the richest worldwide owing to its important fishery production zone due to the weather and geomorpholocial factors offering very enabling conditions.

This EEZ represents a transit area between two major Ocean systems, with the Canary current pushing the cold waters and the Guinea current transporting the hot waters. The EEZ is under the influence of easterlies triggered by the Azores anticyclone and which cause the upwelling of nutrient-rich cold waters. These latter develop in the contact of solar rays at the surface, which is a primary productivity.

THE MPA (Marine Protected Areas)

Follow us on Twitter

Copyright 2015 © RAMPAO - Tous droits réservés